The fundamental precondition for sustainable spatial development is humanity, peace, justice, understanding, tolerance, respect, dialogue and collaboration of people, communities and nations. They belong to the principal values followed in each AESOP activity. Awareness of our shared responsibility for the world, for the future of the next generation, for safeguarding principles of democracy and understanding about our role as spatial planners in protecting these values leads us to explicitly refuse each attack on these values, each act of aggression against other states, nations, races or social groups, each expression of threats of war destruction or violence.

We appeal to the Russian Government to stop its aggression against Ukraine, stop the war, destruction, and violence against civilians, stop the threats of using nuclear weapons, stop misinformation attacks, stop the persecution of citizens fighting for peace and against the war in Ukraine.  

All of us suffer jointly with the Ukrainian and people from other war-affected nations for the tragedy caused; we are humanly close to all our colleagues, friends, and those suffering. We express our commitment to universal values of dialogue and mutual respect.

As representatives of the Association of European Schools of Planning, we hope we will return soon in peace to a renewed responsibility for space and responsibility for life. This can be done jointly with our Ukrainian and other colleagues worldwide based on mutual understanding and absolute protection of our planet facing multiple challenges.

Maroš Finka, AESOP President
Thomas Dillinger, AESOP Vice President
Ledio Allkja, ExCo member, Chair of AESOP Young Academics Network
Camilla Perrone, ExCo member, AESOP Treasurer 
Alex Deffner, ExCo member, AESOP Conference Officer
Angelique Chettiparamb, AESOP Secretary General
Daniel Galland, ExCo member, Chair of the Excellence in Education Board
Paulo Silva, ExCo member, AESOP Representative in GPEAN
Karina Pallagst, Department International Planning Systems, Faculty of Spatial and Environmental Planning, TU Kaiserslautern
Marco Cremaschi, Urban School Sciences Politiques, Institut d´Etudes Politiques de Paris
Ernest Alexander, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, USA
Martin Sondermann, AESOP TG Planning Theories member, ARL – Academy for Territorial Development in the Leibniz Association
Uwe Altrock, University of Kassel, Germany
Tanja Mölders, ARL – Academy for Territorial Development in the Leibniz Association
Magdalena Belof, Faculty of Architecture, Wroclaw University of Science and Technology
Filip Śnieg, ARL – Academy for Territorial Development in the Leibniz Association
Milan Husár - Spectra Centre of Excellence, Institute of Management, Slovak University of Technology
Tijana Dabovic, Faculty of Geography, University of Belgrade, Serbia
Detlef Kurth, Faculty of Spatial and Environmental Planning, TU Kaiserslautern
Anna Miśniakiewicz, Faculty of Architecture, Wrocław University of Science and Technology
Marzanna Jagiełło, Wrocław University of Science and Technology
Sabine Knierbein, TU Wien
Stefan Bindreiter, TU Wien
Anna Małachowicz, Faculty of Architecture, Wrocław University of Science and Technology
Jens S. Dangschat, TU Wien
Andreas Bernögger, TU Wien
Matej Jaššo, Spectra Centre of Excellence, Institute of Management, Slovak University of Technology
Wolfgang Feilmayr, TU Wien
Christian Peer, TU Wien
Sebastian Krätzig, ARL – Academy for Territorial Development in the Leibniz Association
Theresa Janesch, TU Wien
Elias Grinzinger, TU Wien
Paweł Pach, Faculty of Architecture, Wrocław University of Science and Technology
Carey Curtis, Architecture, Building and Planning, University of Melbourne
Nina Svanda, TU Wien
Barbara Steinbrunner, TU Wien
Martin Aufhauser, TU Wien
Anna Aigner, TU Wien
Agnieszka Nowicka, Faculty of Architecture, Wrocław University of Science and Technology
Alice Buoli, DAStU, Politecnico di Milano 
Athena Yiannakou, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki
Jadwiga Urbanik, Faculty of Architecture, Wrocław University of Science and Technology
Izabela Mironowicz, Gdańsk Univeristy of Technology, AESOP Secretary General 2011-2015
Gerhard Schimak, TU Vienna
Giancarlo Cotella, Politecnico di Torino
Elona Karafili, University of Ferrara
Sotir Dhamo, University of Ferrara
Karl Fischer, University of New South Wales
Anna Rubczak, Gdansk University of Technology
Tobias Osswald, University of Aveiro
Carlos Proença, University of Aveiro
Teresa Fidélis, University of Aveiro
José Manuel Martins, University of Aveiro
Dragana Damjanovic, TU Wien
Isabel Nunes, University of Aveiro
Myriam Lopes, University of Aveiro
Stefano Cozzolino, ILS - Research Institute for Regional and Urban Development
Andreas Voigt, TU Wien
Vera Rodrigues, University of Aveiro
Ben Davy, TU Dortmund
Franziska Sielker, University of Cambridge
Frank Othengrafen, TU Dortmund
Anne Weber, TU Dortmund
Mickey Lauria, Clemson University
Joachim Scheiner, TU Dortmund
Jason Reece, Ohio State University
David Varady, University of Cincinnati
Agnes Matoga, TU Kaiserslautern
Marlon Boarnet, University of Southern California
Isabelle Anguelovski, University of Barcelona
Susanne Frank, TU Dortmund
Ernest Alexander, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Gala Korniyenko, Ohio State University
Wolfgang Scholz, TU Dortmund  
Raffael Beier, TU Dortmund
Jörg Peter Schmitt, TU Dortmund
Bernadette Hanlon, Ohio State University
William Siembieda, California Polytechnic State University
Meike Levin-Keitel, TU Dortmund
Raine Mäntysalo, Aalto University
Astrid Ley, Stuttgart University
Sebastian Dembski, University of Liverpool
Beata Banachowicz, University of Lodz
Dave Shaw, University of Liverpool
Zeynep Enlil, Yıldız Technical University
Stephen Jay, University of Liverpool
Martin Schulwitz, TU Dortmund
Tadeusz Stryjakiewicz, Adam Mickiewicz University
Vincent Nadin, Tu Delft
Paulo Pinho, University of Porto
Bojana Bojanic Obad Scitaroci, University of Zagreb
Angel Aparicio, Technical University of Madrid 
Marcel Bazin, University of Reims Champahne-Ardenne
Pawel Churski, Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznań
John Glasson, Oxford Brookes University
Rachelle Alterman, Technion – Israel Institute of Technology
Olivier Sykes, University of Liverpool
Bruce Stiftel, Georgia Institute of Technology



Dear Colleagues, 

ExCo invites you, as a staff or student of member schools of AESOP, to sign the above statement. Should you wish to sign please email „SIGN“ to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. Your name will then be added to the signatory list. 

AESOP Executive Committee