The AESOP Executive Committee operates with delegated powers on behalf of the Council of National Representatives (CoRep) and is subject to its authority. The Committee meets at least twice a year to secure the aims of the AESOP Charter and to implement the policies of AESOP as expressed in the General Assembly or by the Council of Representatives. Representing the Association and managing its current affairs in between meetings of the Executive is delegated to the President and the Secretary General.

Thomas Dillinger is Associate Professor and Dean of Studies in Spatial Planning at TU Wien.
Secretary General
Giancarlo Cotella is Associate Professor at DIST - Interuniversity Department of Regional and Urban Studies and Planning, Politecnico di Torino
Vice President
Maria Håkansson is Associate professor in Urban and regional studies at Department of Urban planning and Environment; School of Architecture and the Built Environment, Stockholm
Camilla Perrone is Associate Professor on Urban and Regional Planning at the University of Florence.
Chair of the Excellence in Education Board
Tijana Dabovic is Associate Professor at the University of Belgrade – Faculty of Geography, Department for Spatial Planning.
Conference Officer
Alex Deffner is Professor of Urban and Leisure Planning at the Department of Planning and Regional Development, University of Thessaly Volos, Greece.
AESOP Representative in GPEAN
Paulo Silva is Assistant Professor at the University of Aveiro, Department of Social, Political and Territorial Sciences.
Young Academics Network Representative
Slovak University of Technology, Bratislava, Slovakia
Assistant to the Secretary General of the AESOP
DIST - Interuniversity Department of Regional and Urban Studies and Planning, Politecnico di Torino
Person Starting Year Final Year
1 David Massey 1987 1989
2 Anthony Ramsey 1989 1991
3 Richard Williams 1991 1993
4 Myriam Jansen-Verbeke 1993 1995
5 Goran Cars 1995 1998
6 Angela Hull 1998 2002
7 Gert de Roo 2002 2007
8 Anna Geppert 2007 2011
9 Izabela Mironowicz 2011 2015
10 Paulo Pinho 2015 2019
11 Angelique Chettiparambil Rajan 2019 2023
12 Giancarlo Cotella 2023
Person Starting Year Final Year
1 Klaus Kunzmann 1987 1990
2 Louis Albrecht 1990 1992
3 Giorgio Piccinato 1992 1994
4 Patsy Healey 1994 1996
5 Marcel Bazin 1996 1998
6 Tadeusz Markowski 1998 2000
7 Hans Mastop 2000 2002
8 Alessandro Balducci 2002 2004
9 Simin Davoudi 2004 2006
10 Peter Ache 2006 2008
11 Willem Salet 2008 2010
12 Kristina L. Nilsson 2010 2012
13 Gert de Roo 2012 2014
14 Francesco Lo Piccolo 2014 2016
15 Anna Geppert 2016 2018
16 Benjamin Davy 2018 2020
17 Maroš Finka 2020 2022
18 Thomas Dillinger 2022

AESOP Auditors

AESOP Auditor
Prof. Abdelillah Hamdouch, Full Professor of Urban & Regional Planning, Department of Spatial Planning and Environmental Engineering, Polytechnic School, University of Tours
AESOP Auditor
Jan Schreurs, PhD, MSc Eng. Architecture, MSc Urbanism & Planning; Prof. Em. at Department of Architecture, Unit Urban Design, Urbanism, Landscape & Planning; Research Group Planning & Development; University of Leuven (KU Leuven)