Association of European Schools of Planning would like to thank University of Lisbon and express our gratitude for the organization of the IX AESOP Heads of Schools Meeting (7th – 9th April): WE MUST ADAPT! Planning connecting academia and local communities in a rapidly changing Europe. The team from Lisbon has shown tremendous dedication to the task and remarkable reliability. We consider the cooperation with University of Lisbon very successful and pleasurable. We would also like express our word of gratitude to the city of Lisbon supporting the event.

We wish to especially thank Prof. Arlindo Oliveira, President of Instituto Superior Técnico/Center for Urban and Regional Systems, Prof. Lucinda Fonseca, President of Instituto de Geografia e Ordenamento do Território / Centre for Geographical Studies and Prof. José Pinto-DuartePresident of Faculdade de Arquitectura for their fabulous cooperation and support.

We also wish to thank Prof. Fernando Nunes da Silva, Prof. Isabel Loupa Ramos, Prof.José Antunes Ferreira  (IST/CESUR), Prof. José Manuel Simões, Eduarda Costa and Márilisa Coelho (IGOT/CEG),Prof. Sofia Morgado and Pedro George (FA) for their contribution to the success of our Heads of Schools Meeting. We know very well that it requires the work of a team to organize such an event, and the role played by each member of the team is important. We are deeply indebted to all who contributed to the success of the event. Our special word of gratitude goes to the staff of the IST/CESUR, IGOT/CEG and FA of the University of Lisbon helping during the event.

Our special word of gratitude goes to Prof. Fernando Nunes da Silva (IST/CESUR) and Henk van der Kamp (President of ECTP-CEU, Dublin Institute of Technology), who presented outstanding keynote speeches and to our invited speakers: Prof. Jan Schreurs (KU Leuven), Martijn de Bruijn (EC, DG Regio), Prof. Maroš Finka (Slovak Institute of Technology), Prof. Camilla Perrone (University of Florence) and Prof. Stefanie Dühr (Radboud University Nijmegen).

We would also like to thank our moderators: Prof. Pantelis Skayannis (University of Thessaly), Prof. Diogo Mateus (University Lusófona de Humanidades e Technologieas) and Prof. Jean-Michel Roux (University Pierre Mendes-France, Grenoble).

The event has been a great joy and pleasure to all of us, and has been so largely thanks to your work and hospitability, for which we remain grateful.