The selection of the winning articles is carried out by a committee nominated by AESOP’s Council of Representatives. The AESOP Published Paper Award Committee consists of the following members:

  • Dominic Stead, CHAIR (Delft University of Technology, Netherlands)
  • Lauren Andres (University of Birmingham, UK)
  • Garri Raagmaa (University of Tartu,Estonia)
  • Mohamed Saleh, YAN Representative (University of Groningen, Netherlands)
  • Anna Hersperger (Swiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape Research, Switzerland)
  • Mark Scott (University College Dublin, Ireland)

This year, 18 papers were nominated by journal editors and from these the Committee shortlisted 5 papers:

  • Agger, A. & Sørensen, E. (2018). Managing collaborative innovation in public bureaucracies. Planning Theory 17(1) 53- 73.
  • Duvall, P.; Lennon, M. & Scott, M. (2018). The ‘natures’ of planning: evolving conceptualizations of nature as expressed in urban planning theory and practice. European Planning Studies 26(3) 480-501.
    Majoor, S.J.H. (2018). Coping with ambiguity: An urban megaproject ethnography. Progress in Planning 120 (2018) 1-28.
  • Manouchehrifar, B. (2018). Is Planning ‘Secular’? Rethinking Religion, Secularism, and Planning. Planning Theory and Practice 19(5) 653-677.
  • Wachsmuth, D. & Weisler, A. (2018). Airbnb and the rent gap: Gentrification through the sharing economy.  Environment & Planning A: Economy and Space 50(6) 1147-1170.

This year's Best Published Paper Award went to

Annika Agger and Eva Sørensen

for the paper

Managing collaborative innovation in public bureaucracies

published in

Planning Theory

The BPP Award Committee considers the paper by Annika Agger and Eva Sørensen to be a very topical and innovative contribution which provides interesting new insights on the governance of planning. Drawing on theories of collaborative planning, network management and public innovation, the authors develop a useful taxonomy of tasks related to managing collaborative innovation. They then identify the potential tensions between these tasks and investigate how these tensions are experienced by planners. The article draws on robust empirical understanding and utilises a range of innovative qualitative methods. The Award Committee is of the opinion that the article addresses a contemporary topic in a rigorous and compelling way, and makes a significant contribution to planning theory and practice.

Link to the article here.

On behalf of the AESOP Community, we would like to congratulate the author and to thank Dominic Stead (Chair) and the Award Committee for all their dedicated and qualified selection work.