The selection of the winning articles is carried out by a committee nominated by AESOP’s Council of Representatives. The AESOP Published Paper Award Committee consists of the following members:

  • Dominic Stead, CHAIR (Delft University of Technology, Netherlands)
  • Umberto Janin Rivolin (Politecnico di Torino,Italy)
  • Roelof Verhage (University Lumiere Lyon II,France)
  • Garri Raagmaa (University of Tartu,Estonia)
  • Mohamed Saleh, YAN Representative (University of Groningen, Netherlands) 

This year, 11 papers were nominated by journal editors and from these the Committee shortlisted 5 papers:

  • Nicholas Blomley (2017) Land use, planning, and the “difficult character of property”. in Planning Theory & Practice 18(3) 351-364.
  • Matthew Carmona (2017) The formal and informal tools of design governance. in Journal of Urban Design 22(1) 1-36.
  • Aftab Erfan (2017) Confronting collective traumas: an exploration of therapeutic planning. in Planning Theory & Practice 18(1) 34-50.
  • Stephen V. Ward (2017) Colin Buchanan’s American journey. in Town Planning Review 88(2) 201-231.
  • Arata D. Yamamoto (2017) Why agonistic planning? Questioning Chantal Mouffe’s thesis of the ontological primacy of the political. in Planning Theory 16(4) 384-403.

This year's Best Published Paper Award went to

Matthew Carmona

for the paper

The formal and informal tools of design governance

published in: Journal of Urban Design

The BPP Award Committee considers Matthew Carmona’s article to be an accessibly-written and well-structured work on the subject of governance tools that can be used to influence the nature and quality of urban design. A key contribution of the article is the identification and categorisation of the different types of governance tools available, both formal and informal. As well as being a useful teaching resource, the article provides a potentially useful reference for public officials involved in urban design.

Link to the article here.

On behalf of the AESOP Community, we would like to congratulate the author and to thank Dominic Stead (Chair) and the Award Committee for all their dedicated and qualified selection work.