21 papers were nominated by journal editors. From these, the Committee selected a short list of the following five papers:

  1. Tanja Winkler & James Duminy: Planning to change the world? Questioning the normative ethics of planning theories in Planning Theory, Vol 15 (2) 2016, 111-129
  2. Jonne Hytönen: The problematic relationship of communicative planning theory and the Finnish legal culture in Planning Theory, Vol. 15(3), 223-238
  3. Hanna Baumann: Enclaves, borders and everyday movements: Palestinian marginal mobility in East Jerusalem in Cities, 59/2016, 173-182
  4. Tore Sager: Activist planning: a response to the woes of neo-liberalism? in European Planning Studies, 74(7), 1262-1280
  5. Matthew Carmona: Design governance: theorizing an urban design sub-field in Journal of Urban Design, 21(6) 2016, 705-730

And, in the end, the Best Published Paper Award went to

Tanja Winkler & James Duminy

for the paper

Planning to change the world? Questioning the normative ethics of planning theories

published in

Planning Theory

According to the Award Committee Tanja Winkler & James Duminy’s paper deals with the fundamental question ‘How does the subjective understanding of a better (or worse) planning intervention vary from person to person, context to context or culture to culture?’ Based on reflections on different meta-ethical positions, the authors propose that epistemological standpoints shape – and are shaped by – ethical principles and that epistemologies of action are constantly changing. With the example of two settlements in the area of Cape Town, Winkler and Duminy suggest that some engagement with metaethical questions might offer scholars of the global South-East an alternative basis for developing knowledge.

The committee members agree that Tanja Winkler and James Duminy’s paper contributes to a broader understanding of the fundamental values of planning.

The link to the paper is kindly provided by the journal.

On behalf of the AESOP Community, we would like to congratulate the authors and to thank Karina Pallagst (Chair) and the Award Committee for all their dedicated and qualified selection work.